In the Loop
Faculty News : May 14, 2018

Art history professor named Distinguished Teaching Scholar

Dr. Melissa Hyde, professor for eighteenth- and nineteenth-Century European Art and director of graduate studies in the School of Art + Art History, was elected to the UF Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars. Hyde's research and publications focus on gender and visual culture in eighteenth-century France.

Members of the University of Florida Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars are selected based on applications that provide strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

"I am very much looking forward to working with the provost’s office and with distinguished teacher-scholars from across campus to think about how to enhance faculty teaching experiences in ways that continue to contribute to the excellence of our university, particularly in the humanities and arts," Hyde said. 

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy teacher-scholar inductees serve for three years on the advisory board for the provost's office. In this capacity they assist in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty.

“We are proud to have Dr. Hyde represent the college on the UF Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars,” Dean Lucinda Lavelli said. “This honor recognizes Dr. Hyde’s excellence in combining research and teaching, and her colleagues and I especially appreciate the perspectives she will contribute to the conversation on a university level.”

Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the university. After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the academy.